Home > 30-Hour DV Core Training

Are you interested in advocacy or learning more as an allied professional?

Register for the Domestic Violence Core Competency Training today!

The YWCA Kitsap Domestic Violence Core Competency Training meets DSHS requirements to provide direct advocacy to DV clients. The training is also designed to increase knowledge and understanding of domestic violence dynamics.

Who should take this training?

• Anyone who needs to meet the pre-service domestic violence training requirements for advocates
• Allied professionals working with domestic violence survivors

The 30-Hour Domestic Violence Core Competency Training includes the following education:

(a) History of the Battered Women’s Movement and YWCA
(b) Domestic Violence 101
(c) The Impact of Trauma and Domestic Violence on Children
(d) Advocacy Ethics
(e) Empowerment Based Advocacy
(f) Safety Planning
(g) Legal and Court Systems
(h) Law Enforcement Response
(i) Sexual Exploitation and Trafficking
(j) Crisis Intervention
(k) Active Listening Skills
(l) Anti-Oppression and Racial Justice
(m) Working with Immigrant Communities
(n) Working with LGBTQIA+ Communities
(o) N.E.A.R. Sciences
(p) Vicarious Trauma, Compassion Fatigue and Burnout
(q) Panel Discussion – Serving Survivors of Domestic Violence

YWCA Kitsap invites organizations and other professionals to present on subjects to give attendees the most relevant and current information. Presenters and panelists may include:

• Bremerton Police Department
• Child Protective Services
• Crime Victim Assistance Center
• Dispute Resolution Center
• Kitsap Community Resources
• Kitsap County Courthouse
• Kitsap County Jail
• Kitsap County Prosecutor’s Office
• Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office
• Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center
• Kitsap Sexual Assault Center
• Northwest Justice Project
• Peninsula Community Health Services
• Scarlet Road
• Sound Mind Body Institute
• Suquamish Tribe Wellness Center

Training Fee: $250 per person


Due to COVID-19, all trainings are being provided via Zoom and offer Closed Captioning. This is subject to change and trainings will resume to a classroom setting only if safe to do so.

Domestic Violence Core Competency Training Dates:

FEBRUARY 2021
Thursday, February 11, 10am – 4pm
Friday, February 12, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, February 18, 10am – 4pm
Friday, February 19, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, February 25, 10am – 4pm
Friday, February 26, 10am – 4pm

MAY 2021
Friday, May 21, 8am – 5pm
Saturday, May 22, 8am – 5pm
Thursday, May 27, 8am – 5pm
Friday, May 28, 8am – 5pm

AUGUST 2021
Thursday, August 12, 10am – 4pm
Friday, August 13, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, August 19, 10am – 4pm
Friday, August 20, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, August 26, 10am – 4pm
Friday, August 27, 10am – 4pm

NOVEMBER 2021
Friday, November 12, 8am – 5pm
Saturday, November 13, 8am – 5pm
Thursday, November 18, 8am – 5pm
Friday, November 19, 8am – 5pm


Interested in attending? Complete the registration form below:

For more information contact us at education@ywcakitsap.org

Call Now Button24/7 Hotline
Translate »