Home > Education

Are you interested in advocacy or learning more as an allied professional?

Register for YWCA’s 30-Hour Victim Services Training today!

The YWCA Kitsap Victim Services Training meets DSHS requirements in order to provide direct advocacy to DV clients. The training is also designed to increase knowledge and understanding of domestic violence dynamics.

Who should take this training?

• Anyone who needs to meet the pre-service domestic violence training requirements for advocates
• Allied professionals working with domestic violence survivors
• Anyone interested in volunteering in direct services

The 30-Hour Victim Services Training includes the following education:

(a) Theory and implementation of empowerment based advocacy;
(b) The history of the domestic violence movement;
(c) Active listening skills;
(d) Legal, medical, social service, and systems advocacy;
(e) Anti-oppression and cultural competency theory and practice; and ethics;
(g) Safety planning skills and barriers to safety;
(h) Planning, clarifying issues and options, and crisis intervention;
(i) Providing services and advocacy to individuals from culturally specific populations; and
(j) Policies and procedures of the domestic violence program.

The agenda (may be presented in different order depending on presenters and structure of training) includes:

1. History of the Battered Women’s Movement and YWCA
2. History of the Victim’s Movement
3. DV 101
4. Impact of DV on Children
5. Impact of
6. Trauma-Informed Care
7. Empowerment Based Advocacy
8. Confidentiality & Ethics
9. Safety Planning & Resources
10. Legal System
11. Crisis Intervention
12. Active Listening Skills
13. Law Enforcement Response
14. Individual Biases & Anti-Oppression
15. LGBTQIA+ Communities & Cultural Competency
16. Immigrant Communities & Cultural Competency
17. Vicarious Trauma, Compassion Fatigue, Burnout, & Self Care
18. Roleplaying – Practicing Skills
19. Panel – Professionals to discuss different types of advocacy (medical, legal, social service, systems, tribal, etc.)
20. Additional activities and videos to supplement learning

YWCA invites organizations and other professionals to present on particular subjects to give attendees the most relevant and current information regarding the topics:

1. Sound Mind Body Institute
2. Crime Victim Assistance Center
3. Crisis Clinic of the Peninsulas
4. Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office
5. Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center
6. Dispute Resolution Center
7. Panel Discussion: DV Prosecutor, YWCA Legal Advocacy Manager, Scarlet Road, Crime Victim Assistance Center, Kitsap Sexual Assault Center, Suquamish Tribe Wellness Center,Bremerton Law Enforcement, SAIVS, US Navy.
*Presenters and Panelists Subject to Change*


Victim Services Training Dates:


JULY 2019 –
Deadline to register July 10
Thursday, July 18
Friday, July 19
Saturday, July 20
Friday, July 26
Saturday, July 27

NOVEMBER 2019
Thursday, November 7
Friday, November 8
Saturday, November 9
Friday, November 15
Saturday, November 16

MARCH 2020
Thursday, March 19
Friday, March 20
Saturday, March 21
Friday, March 27
Saturday, March 28

JULY 2020
Thursday, July 16
Friday, July 17
Saturday, July 18
Friday, July 24
Saturday, July 25

For more information or to register email us at education@ywcakitsap.org