Home > Education

Are you interested in advocacy or learning more as an allied professional?

Register for the Domestic Violence Core Competency Training today!

The YWCA Kitsap Domestic Violence Core Competency Training meets DSHS requirements in order to provide direct advocacy to DV clients. The training is also designed to increase knowledge and understanding of domestic violence dynamics.

Who should take this training?

• Anyone who needs to meet the pre-service domestic violence training requirements for advocates
• Allied professionals working with domestic violence survivors

The 30-Hour Domestic Violence Core Competency Training includes the following education:

(a) Theory and implementation of empowerment based advocacy;
(b) The history of the domestic violence movement;
(c) Active listening skills;
(d) Legal, medical, social service, and systems advocacy;
(e) Anti-oppression and cultural competency theory and practice; and ethics;
(g) Safety planning skills and barriers to safety;
(h) Planning, clarifying issues and options, and crisis intervention;
(i) Providing services and advocacy to individuals from culturally specific populations; and
(j) Policies and procedures of the domestic violence program.

YWCA Kitsap invites organizations and other professionals to present on subjects to give attendees the most relevant and current information. Presenters may include:

• Child Protective Services
• Crime Victim Assistance Center
• Dispute Resolution Center
• Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office
• Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center
• Kitsap Sexual Assault Center
• Kitsap Strong
• Peninsula Community Health Services
• Scarlet Road
• Sound Mind Body Institute
• Suquamish Tribe Wellness Center

Training Fee: $250 per person


Due to COVID-19, all training dates are subject to change. Registrants will continue to receive updates via email and by phone.

Domestic Violence Core Competency Training Dates:

JANUARY 2020
Thursday, January 23
Friday, January 24
Thursday, January 30
Friday, January 31

MAY 2020
(Canceled)
Friday, May 15
Saturday, May 16
Thursday, May 21
Friday, May 22

AUGUST 2020 (Virtual)
Thursday, August 20, 10am – 4pm
Friday, August 21, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, August 27, 10am – 4pm
Friday, August 28, 10am – 4pm
Thursday, September 3, 10am – 4pm
Friday, September 4, 10am – 4pm

NOVEMBER 2020 (Virtual)
Friday, November 13, 8am – 5pm
Saturday, November 14, 8am – 5pm
Thursday, November 19, 8am – 5pm
Friday, November 20, 8am – 5pm


Interested in attending? Complete the registration form below:

For more information contact us at education@ywcakitsap.org

24/7 Hotline
Translate »