Home > Education

Are you interested in advocacy or learning more as an allied professional?

Register for the Domestic Violence Core Competency Training today!

The YWCA Kitsap Domestic Violence Core Competency Training meets DSHS requirements in order to provide direct advocacy to DV clients. The training is also designed to increase knowledge and understanding of domestic violence dynamics.

Who should take this training?

• Anyone who needs to meet the pre-service domestic violence training requirements for advocates
• Allied professionals working with domestic violence survivors
• Anyone interested in volunteering in direct services

The 30-Hour Domestic Violence Core Competency Training includes the following education:

(a) Theory and implementation of empowerment based advocacy;
(b) The history of the domestic violence movement;
(c) Active listening skills;
(d) Legal, medical, social service, and systems advocacy;
(e) Anti-oppression and cultural competency theory and practice; and ethics;
(g) Safety planning skills and barriers to safety;
(h) Planning, clarifying issues and options, and crisis intervention;
(i) Providing services and advocacy to individuals from culturally specific populations; and
(j) Policies and procedures of the domestic violence program.

YWCA Kitsap invites organizations and other professionals to present on subjects to give attendees the most relevant and current information. Presenters may include:

1. Sound Mind Body Institute
2. Crime Victim Assistance Center
3. Kitsap County Sheriff’s Office
4. Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center
5. Dispute Resolution Center 6. Kitsap Strong


Domestic Violence Core Competency Training Dates:

JANUARY 2020
Thursday, January 23
Friday, January 24
Thursday, January 30
Friday, January 31

APRIL 2020

Friday, April 10
Saturday, April 11
Thursday, April 16
Friday, April 17

JULY 2020
Thursday, July 16
Friday, July 17
Thursday, July 23
Friday, July 24

NOVEMBER 2020
Friday, November 13
Saturday, November 14
Thursday, November 19
Friday, November 20


Interested in attending? Complete the registration form below:

For more information contact us at education@ywcakitsap.org